Wednesday, May 29, 2013

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY: A Fire That Burns by Kirsty-Anna Still

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine
This week's WOW is:




Title: A Fire That Burns
Author: Kirsty-Anne Still
Publication Date: June 28th 2013


“Six years on and you’re still as in love with me as you were when you left. You never stopped loving me, you never could. You didn’t leave because you didn’t love me.”

After running from the truth for six years of her life, Austin Pearson decides it’s time to come home to life in Point Arena. What she finds is broken relationships and broken hearts and the same love that consumed her years ago.
When confronted with the love of her life, Austin has to decide between giving in, giving up or hiding all over again.
Will Tyler Armstrong be enough to crack the secrets that drove the woman he loved away when they were nineteen or are they destined to love other people? What happens when he finds himself living everyday with Austin and realising that feelings he thought had diminished flame up and take a hold of his life? What happens when fires burn brighter than ever and the secrets of the past come tumbling out?
Is love enough to get them through what life has in store for them?
| Goodreads

What's your WAITING ON WEDNESDAY?
Link your post in the comments :D

And don't forget to enter my BIG GIVEAWAY!!!
link here


Tuesday, May 28, 2013

GIVEAWAY!! WIN BOOKS!!!

Well, since I am feeling generous, I decided to do a little giveaway.
Maybe not little, but not massive. Hehe!
I've only just opened my official blog Facebook page, The Page Turners,
so please go and like it. This is partly why I am holding this giveaway!
Here, you can win all of these books!










HAPPY READING!! AND GOOD LUCK!!

REVIEW: Going Under by S. Walden

Going Under by S. Walden


Title: Going Under
Author: S. Walden
Publication Date: March 14th 2013


Brooke Wright has only two goals her senior year at Charity Run High School: stay out of trouble and learn to forgive herself for the past. Forgiveness proves elusive, and trouble finds her anyway when she discovers a secret club at school connected to the death of her best friend. She learns that swim team members participate in a “Fantasy Slut League,” scoring points for their sexual acts with unsuspecting girls.
Brooke, wracked with guilt over her friend’s death, decides to infiltrate the league by becoming one of the “unsuspecting girls,” and exact revenge on the boys who stole away her best friend. An unexpected romance complicates her plans, and her dogged pursuit of justice turns her reckless as she underestimates just how far the boys will go to keep their sex club a secret.
| Goodreads

My Review


When I first read the blurb of this book, I was like "OMG I need this now!". I've always had a weak spot for real-life stories. And immediately, when I picked up this book, I knew it would be a gritting ride. It got me hooked from the beginning!!

S. Walden took us through so much emotions and feelings in this book. Jealousy, anger, happiness and love. The story starts of with Brooke, whose best friend got raped and killed herself over it. Brooke wants to get revenge for her best friend, Beth. The whole plot of this book just grabbed on to me and wouldn't let me go. I was stuck reading it the whole night and I couldn't stop.

But the only reason I gave this book a 4.5 was because Brooke was a bit too weepy for me. I mean, I get it that she'd just lost her best friend, but she cried too much. And also, (SPOILERS WARNING) who would sleep with your best friend's boyfriend? I mean, I know that sometimes happen between two best friends, but Brooke was the one who introduced the guy to Beth and now she stole him away. I'm not really comfortable with love-triangles like I said before, so I didn't like that bit one bit.

But overall, I love the whole intense problem of the sex club. It just pulled me in completely. I love how Brooke was so determined to get revenge for her best friend. I know that they had trouble just right before Beth committed suicide, I just adore the relationship that Brooke kept holding on between them. And also, what can I say, I LOVE RYAN!!

This book took me through such an intense situation. All of the problems between the sex club and Brooke, it was just so......un-put-down-able (is that even a word? No).

I love the book!! I love the characters and I love how the author made this book more about other girls as well instead of just focusing on Brooke and Beth. I love the writing and I can't wait to see what S. Walden have in store next!!

About The Author


S. Walden used to teach English before making the best decision of her life by becoming a full-time writer. She lives in Georgia with her very supportive husband who prefers physics textbooks over fiction and has a difficult time understanding why her characters must have personality flaws. She is wary of small children, so she has a Westie instead. Her dreams include raising chickens and owning and operating a beachside inn on the Gulf Coast (chickens included). When she's not writing, she's thinking about it.
She loves her fans and loves to hear from them. Email her at swaldenauthor@hotmail.com and follow her blog at http://swaldenauthor.blogspot.com where you can get up-to-date information on her current projects.
Facebook: www.facebook.com/swaldenauthor

TOP TEN TUESDAY #5


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish
Since this week is a freebie, which mean that we can list anything we want,
I thought I would do 10 books I NEED/WANT to read so bad!!
Whether it is one of the books I've been wanting for ages, or just a book that grabbed my attention!
So here we go:

10 BOOKS I WANT TO READ SO BAD!!







And Finally!!! 
The last and only book that I REALLY REALLY want to read!!



What's YOUR Top Ten Tuesday freebie??
Link it in the comments so I can visit!!





REVIEW: Down London Road by Samantha Young

Down London Road by Samantha Young


Title: Down London Road
Author: Samantha Young
Publication Date: May 9th 2013 (UK ver)
Publisher: Penguin


Johanna Walker knows what she wants. And that's a strong, steady, financially secure man who will treat her well and look after her and her little brother, Cole - something her parents have never done.
But when she meets the gorgeous Cameron MacCabe, a new bartender at work, Jo can't deny the instant and undeniable attraction she feels. Cam doesn't fit into her strict specifications of her perfect partner at all - but for once she is tempted to let her heart rule her head.
And as their intense connection grows, Jo has to stop hiding the truth about herself and her family. Is Cam prepared to accept Jo for who she really is? And is Jo willing to let someone into her life for keeps?
| Goodreads

My Review


WOW! What can I say? Samantha did an awesome job AGAIN. When I first read the first book On Dublin Street, I was hooked straight away. So when this book came out, I HAD to go and get it. And believe me, I did not regret a moment of reading it.

In this second instalment (which can be read as a stand-alone), we get to meet Jo, short for Johanna. She is generous, friendly, and she cares about her friends and family. I have to say that she was selfless, maybe a bit TOO selfless. I mean, she cared about her family and friends way more than she cares about herself. And I found that very admirable. Not many girls in their twenties put everything first before themselves. Jo was unique and she had humour. I love girls with smart-ass humour. 

And of course, we get to meet Cam. Oh Cam!! I love Cam, I mean, who wouldn't?? You would be crazy if you didn't fall in love with him. He's charming, a bit weird, very humourous, and (obviously) HOT!! He cared about Jo and her family, he is truthful when he speaks to her. He doesn't lie, and that is what I want in every man. He has these feelings towards Jo that I can't explain, but I can feel it. I can feel his need and desperation for Jo to trust him, but he doesn't push her. He gives her time. 

And how could I forget Braden and Joss? I mean, they are such a cute couple together. I love Braden and I love Joss. They are the sort of friends who I would love to have right by my side every time. They are funny, protective (not too protective though) and I just love them. 

The plot of this book was great. I love how Jo had an abusive past and the relationship between her and her 14-year-old brother. Normally, brothers and sisters don't get along well. But I love their relationship, how they both care so much about each other (*sniff sniff* it makes me miss my sister). 

There were these feelings and emotions that Samantha created that got to me every time. Sometimes I feel like laughing, crying or sometimes, makes me think about my own family. It was just all so real! Of course, you can read this one as a stand-alone but I suggest you go and read On Dublin Street first. Both books are AMAZING!! 

Looking forward to reading Samantha's next book!!!


About The Author


Samantha Young is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author from Stirlingshire, Scotland. She's been nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award for Best Author and Best Romance for her international bestseller ON DUBLIN STREET.
For more info on Samantha's adult fiction visit http://www.ondublinstreet.com
For info on her young adult fiction visit www.samanthayoungbooks.com

Monday, May 27, 2013

BLOG STOP & GIVEAWAY: The Golden Couple by Stephanie Karpinske

The Golden Couple by Stephanie Karpinske


Title: The Golden Couple
Author: Stephanie Karpinske
Series: The Samantha Project #2
Publication Date: February 23rd 2013


In this action-packed second installment of The Samantha Project series, Samantha and Erik go on a search to find a way to save themselves from the genetic time bomb ticking away in their cells. Along the way, they discover a shocking secret--one they wish they were never told!
Although Samantha's boyfriend, Colin, is back now, her feelings for Erik are getting stronger by the minute. It isn't long before she finally learns the real reason why she can't resist Erik. But only after she's gone too far with him! So far that Colin may never forgive her.
GlobalLife Genetics continues to pursue Samantha and they'll stop at nothing to get her. Sam still doesn't understand what GlobalLife's plan is for her but she knows it's something big. And she knows it isn't good.



My Review


WHAT?! I mean, you can't just end the book like that!!! 

Anyway, this book picked off right where it ended in The Samantha Project.

I'm not a big fat fan of love-triangles so I didn't enjoy Sam's feelings towards Erik AND Collin that much, but I have to say, TEAM COLLIN ALL THE WAY!!

I love all of the science brought up in this story. I mean, it wasn't too complicated, and it wasn't boring either. I love how Stephanie creates up all of this science things. I understood all of the science stuff going on and I could see how science was practically battling with reality. 

I thought the author did a great job at creating up this whole world of genes and genetics. She didn't make it too confusing by using too many science words. I am totally enjoying this series, and I wish I could've seen this sooner. I mean, I've gone past it in lists and all that but it never really got my attention. But I guess, everyone always say this, never judge a book by its cover, right?

Go Team Collin! And I can't wait to read the third book!! 

GIVEAWAY!

About The Author


Hi everyone! I'm a freelance writer and recipe developer for magazines and cookbooks. That's my "day job" but in my free time, I write young adult novels. I just finished book 3 of The Samantha Project series and am now working on two new YA/NA romance novels. I love hearing from readers so feel free to chat with me on goodreads, facebook, or my blog.


RELEASE DAY BLITZ: Unbreak Me by Lexi Ryan





Title: Unbreak Me
Author: Lexi Ryan
Publication Date: May 27th 2013


“If you’re broken, I’ll fix you…”
I’m only twenty-one and already damaged goods. A slut. A failure. A disappointment to my picture-perfect family as long as I can remember. I called off my wedding to William Bailey, the only man who thought I was worth fixing. A year later, he’s marrying my sister. Unless I ask him not to…
“If you shatter, I’ll find you…”
But now there’s Asher Logan, a broken man who sees the fractures in my fa├žade and doesn’t want to fix me at all. Asher wants me to stop hiding, to stop pretending. Asher wants to break down my walls. But that means letting him see my ugly secrets and forgiving him for his.
With my past weighing down on me, do I want the man who holds me together or the man who gives me permission to break?


EXCERPT from Unbreak Me:


“You’ve had a long day,” he says. “You want to talk?”
I drape my arms behind his neck. “Why would you think I want to talk to you at all?” 
He grunts. “Because you’re looking at me like a starved woman at a prime rib buffet.”
“Yes,” I murmur. “What does that have to do with talking?”
His eyes are so damn sexy. The kind of eyes you see in magazines, where the man staring at you from the pages seems to invite you to strip bare while promising you’d enjoy it. 
“Don’t you want us to get to know each other before you indulge?”
I pretend to consider it. “I’m more about the meal than the conversation.” 
“You’re a kid.” If it’s supposed to be an objection it rings weak against the pressure of his hand on my hip.
I trace a rivulet of water down his neck. “I’m twenty-one.” I bring up my knees and wrap my legs around his waist, satisfied when he draws in his breath with a sharp hiss.
“Is this about him?” he asks.
I frown. “Who?”
“The groom at your sister’s wedding? He has some kind of hold on you. I saw it in your eyes. In his.”
“This has nothing to do with William Bailey.”
He looks unconvinced but doesn’t call my bluff. Instead, he brushes his lips over mine. Gentle. Careful. Sweet.
The only thing that can break me tonight is sweet, and I won’t be broken. I bite his full bottom lip and dig my nails into his shoulder blades.
A quick study, he gets my message. His hand tangles into my hair while the other digs into my ass and pulls me against him. The hard length of his cock rests between my legs and lights a hot coil of pulsing energy.
He rubs his tongue against mine and moans. Or maybe that’s me, because I’m pulling him closer. I wrap my arm tighter behind his neck, and I’m practically crawling up him in my efforts to get closer and closer still. 
I break the kiss and make myself back off. I’m not the kind of girl who loses control. I don’t lose my mind over men and expect to be saved. I don’t want Asher to save me.
His fingertips are at my hip, tracing an invisible path down and under, moving ever closer to that coiled ache between my thighs. His lips part and our breath mingles as I savor the heat of his body against mine, the sweet anticipation of his fingers inching closer to where I want them.
I slide a hand down his bare chest and between our bodies and cup him through his swim trunks. I’m rewarded with another hiss and then his lips, his tongue, his teeth, hot and desperate against my neck, nipping, toying, playing. Electrifying the sensitive skin.
He cups my breast, and this time I know the moan I hear is my own.
“So goddamn sexy.” His thumb flicks across my nipple, a strangled sound escaping his throat.
I graze my fingertips under the waistband of his swim trunks. I want to feel him in my palm. I want that power to whip through me as I wrap my hands around his hot flesh and it pulses thicker, harder.
For a moment, that’s where this is headed. His hands are greedy, all over me, his mouth doing delicious things to my neck.
“You have protection, right?” I ask.
He laughs and stops toying with me, his head leaning against my shoulder. Slowly, he slides his hands to my back. “That’s not exactly something I keep tucked in my swim trunks.” 
I’m so aroused it hurts. Asher is stunning. Solid. Delicious. I want to bite into that corded muscle of his neck. Want to explore that smattering of chest hair with my fingers while I drag my mouth down his flat stomach. 
But he doesn’t have protection, and that’s a deal breaker. 
“In your house?” My breathing’s unsteady, my heart pounding.
He cups my face in one big hand. “Why don’t you run home and get dressed? I’ll take you to breakfast.”
My jaw goes slack. Who the hell is this guy? Who has brakes that good?

Excerpt © Lexi Ryan, 2013

About The Author


New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Ryan writes romances with humor, heat, and heart. Her books are described as fun, flirty, and wickedly sexy. A lover of learning, Lexi has been in the classroom all her life and currently holds the title of assistant professor of English at her local community college. Lexi is a proud member of Romance Writers of America. She lives in rural Indiana with her husband and two children.




Sunday, May 26, 2013

REVIEW: Unbreak Me by Lexi Ryan

Unbreak Me by Lexi Ryan


Title: Unbreak Me
Author: Lexi Ryan
Publication Date: May 27th 2013


“If you’re broken, I’ll fix you…”
I’m only twenty-one and already damaged goods. A slut. A failure. A disappointment to my picture-perfect family as long as I can remember. I called off my wedding to William Bailey, the only man who thought I was worth fixing. A year later, he’s marrying my sister. Unless I ask him not to…
“If you shatter, I’ll find you…”
But now there’s Asher Logan, a broken man who sees the fractures in my fa├žade and doesn’t want to fix me at all. Asher wants me to stop hiding, to stop pretending. Asher wants to break down my walls. But that means letting him see my ugly secrets and forgiving him for his.
With my past weighing down on me, do I want the man who holds me together or the man who gives me permission to break?
| Goodreads |

My Review


**ARC given in exchange for an honest review**

How do you describe a book like this? How can you not LOVE this book? 

When I first read the blurb for this book, part of me thought 'I need this book!!1' and the other part of me thought 'love-triangle, really?'

I have to say, I'm not a big fan of love-triangles. Because sometimes, the author might make the girl/boy end up with the wrong girl/boy. But honestly, Lexi did an awesome job at creating up these characters. The main character is Maggie. She's broken, and she has a complicated past. Maggie was mature, she wasn't like those type of girls who would swoon for all of the boys that like her. Instead, she's confused, she's not sure of her decision. She doesn't trust people, in fact, she doesn't trust herself.

There are two boys in this book (duh!). Will and Asher. Will is the sort of good boy who mostly cares about work and being successful. I didn't really like his character at some point, but in other, I did like him. He is kind, and charming. But I sometimes, I thought he was too forceful. 

I LOVE Asher! He's everything I need!! Not only that he's a bad-boy-rockstar-living-next-door, he's also very genuine. he's understanding and (how could I forget?) HOT!! I love his character. He wasn't even a bit forceful, he understood what Maggie wanted, what she needed. And I found that very admirable because sometimes, men aren't like that, they sometime gets pissed whenever the girl they love hides away. But Asher wasn't like that at all. He left Maggie space when she needed it and he lent her a shoulder to cry on (or should I say, 'chest'!!).

The pacing was great. It didn't go too past, it didn't stretch out too long. It was just...normal. I didn't get bored while reading this book and I didn't get rushed either. I love this book, the love-triangle didn't get on my nerve AT ALL, so that was a first in a long time. Lexi did an awesome job and I can't wait to read what she has in store next!!

About The Author


New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Ryan writes romances with humor, heat, and heart. Her books are described as fun, flirty, and wickedly sexy. A lover of learning, Lexi has been in the classroom all her life and currently holds the title of assistant professor of English at her local community college. Lexi is a proud member of Romance Writers of America. She lives in rural Indiana with her husband and two children.



STACKING THE SHELVES #5


Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews
This week, I BOUGHT:



WON:


1. Clutch by J.A. Huss (SIGNED)

FOR REVIEW:



What did YOU buy, win or got for review??










Saturday, May 25, 2013

REVIEW: Breathe Me by Alexia Purdy

Breathe Me by Alexia Purdy


Title: Breathe Me
Author: Alexia Purdy
Publication Date: May 31st 2013
Publisher: Lyrical Lit. Publishing


Sometimes the one who broke your heart, needs the most saving.
Piper Sandervale never thought she’d see Sasha Koval ever again. Not since he took her heart, ripped it out and obliterated it from existence. Now, six years have passed and she has run into him once more at the local fairgrounds in Las Vegas. He desperately wants another chance, and he’d do anything to get her back. She’s willing to give him a taste of his own medicine, if this is her chance for payback. But, will she find herself way in over her head?
Something has changed with Sasha and Piper struggles to justify the worth of past hurts to continue her quest for atonement.
Who needs saving now?
| Goodreads

My Review


***I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review***

4.5 stars

WOW! Alexia can never disappoint me with her writing! When she revealed the cover, I immediately wanted this book straight away! And lucky me!!

This book was very interesting. It wasn't about love-at-first-sight or falling-in-love-with-a-bad-boy. It was about second chances. We get to meet Piper. She is quiet, still heart broken over her break-up in college. Piper doesn't trust people straight away, and that was what made her stronger than she really was inside. I love Piper, I love how she's weak at some point, and strong in another. 

We also get to meet Sasha. He was the boy that broke Piper's heart in college. Now he's back, and he still loves Piper. I have to say, reading this book was a refreshment for me since I was more into a bad-boy thing. But Sasha wasn't the bad-boy type at all. He's kind, charming and very caring. I love his relationship with his son, and I love how he isn't the rich-type. 

The pacing of this book was great at first. But then it was kind of rushed near the end. I thought if Alexia stretched it out a bit more then it would have been AMAZING! That was the only reason I gave this a 4.5 instead of a 5. 

The chemistry in here was so strong that I could practically feel it myself. It was all so realistic that I could just grab it. I could feel how Piper was feeling, and I could feel how generous Sasha was. The characters and emotions in here were so well described that I caught every little aspect of the story. 

I love Alexia's writing. This book was an epic read. I only just started reading it yesterday evening and finished it straight away today. AMAZING BOOK! I cannot wait to read what Alexia has in store next!!

About The Author


Alexia currently lives in Las Vegas, Nevada–Sin City! She loves to spend every free moment writing or playing with her four rambunctious kids. Writing has always been her dream and she has been writing ever since she can remember. She loves writing paranormal fantasy and poetry and devours books daily. Alexia also enjoys watching movies, dancing, singing loudly in the car and Italian food. She is currently working on ‘Ever Winter’, the third installment of A Dark Faerie Tale Series and ‘Disarming (Reign of Blood Series Book 2)

Visit her at http://alexiapurdy.blogspot.com




EXCERPT: One by Mari Arden

One by Mari Arden


Title: One
Author: Mari Arden
Publication Date: July 2013

Jules Hendricks has had a string of bad "firsts."
Embarrassing first kiss. Traumatic first date. An obsessive first boyfriend she can't understand.
It's taken her years but she's finally able to leave her small town life behind for a new start as a freshmen at UW- Madison. For Jules this chance to be independent and rebuild her life is an opportunity she won't ever let anyone take from her again. She's determined to make something of herself without a man by her side, in front, behind or anywhere near her.
Reid "Pax" Paxton is the star quarterback for the UW Badgers. His brush with death makes him understand how precious life is, and how important it is to take life by the horns, unafraid. Jules knows he's dangerous for her. Dark hair. Smoldering eyes. Killer smile. That dimple. That body. Those arms. Pax is everything she's trying to run away from, but she can't help coming back for more. Slowly he begins to show a life together can be more than just a dream. It can be their reality. The truth about reality is it's not always sunshine and butterflies.
Sometimes it's a wasteland.
Sometimes secrets can't stay buried.
Sometimes your past will find a way to hunt you down.
| Goodreads

I've been wanting to read this book for AGES!! I mean, the cover is AMAZING! And the blurb sounds sooo interesting. After reading the blurb, I immediately fell in love with it!!
(SCROLL DOWN FOR EXCERPT)


EXCERPT


        "Do I make you nervous?" His husky drawl drips like chocolate covering a ripe, round strawberry. Does he make me nervous? Does a simmering volcano make an ant nervous?
            I swallow. "Nervous? I'm not nervous," I babble, refusing to look at him. I'm in physical pain. What's that thing I do where I take in air, and then let it out? Oh yeah, breathing. I need to do that.
            Like right now.
            I make a strangled sound and inhale through my nostrils, taking in the smoky air like a ravenous puppy finding milk. Instantly I feel Pax's heat next to me. Soon I'll be immersed in it, wrapped in it.
            Wrapped around him.
            So does that make me nervous? Only a hundred kinds of nervous.
            "Time to begin!" Cade yells, as he jogs back to Pax and I, flashing his pearly whites. He pounds Pax on the back. "Don't drop the ball," he grins.
            "As if I ever do."
            Cade turns to me. I see the second he registers my cleavage is exposed to the world. His eyes appraise me slowly. He gives me an appreciative grin. "Well, hello there."
            "Hi," I reply. "Um, should we start now?" I don't mean to be rude, but I'm a second away from vomiting every cell inside me, and call me crazy, but I'd prefer not to start off my year known as the Vomiter.
            "Yes," Pax glares at Cade. "Let's start." He inserts himself between us, blocking Cade's view of me. His firm, half naked body is next to my face. Pax's musky cologne combined with a sweaty scent unique to him assails my nostrils until my senses are reeling out of control.
            Cade chuckles, looking amused. I want to glare at him. I don't find anything amusing about this. "Ready when you are."
            Pax turns to me, his emerald eyes dark pools in the sunlight. This close I see every glorious inch of him, from the tiny stubbles of black hair covering the lower part of his face to the rippling six pack decorating his stomach like a tattoo. I don't dare look any lower. My pulse skitters. I forget to breathe. Something hard and hot unfurls in my belly. Unable to tear my gaze from him I watch helpless as his mouth drifts closer, until he' so close his breath mingles with mine.
            "Ride me."


About The Author

I'm Mari Arden (Mari rhymes with safari). Teacher by day, author by night. When I'm not living my double life I like to hike and try foods from all over the world. Up until recently, I used to be scared of dogs. Even puppies. True story. Now I'm just afraid of anything with more than six legs. I write to soothe my soul and to, hopefully, entertain YOU.
Adventurous? Come join my double life!

RELEASE EVENT: The Do Over by A.L. Zaun

The Do Over by A.L. Zaun


Title: The Do Over
Author: A.L. Zaun
Publication Date: May 20th 2013
Genre: Contemporary Romance


Life doesn’t look like it’s supposed to for Dani Ruiz, a hopeless romantic.  After a painful and sudden break-up with Rick Marin—who  she thought was the One—Dani hides away from reality, retreating to a world of fiction, preferring book boyfriends over the hassles of a relationship.
After almost two years of watching Dani in a holding pattern, her friends stage an intervention and force her back into the real world of dating.
Unexpectedly, Dani meets Liam Lucas, a down-to-earth firefighter. He might be the person to show her she’s still worth something. Dani’s hesitant to trust her heart with another man, but their instant and electric chemistry is something she can’t deny.
As Dani starts to believe that she’s found her real-life book boyfriend, Rick decides that he’ll go to any lengths to get her back. Seeing Rick as a changed man makes Dani question everything.
Can Dani trust her patched-up heart with Liam?
Or has Rick transformed into the man she’s always wanted?
Told from various points of views, The Do Over is a story of second chances and new beginnings.  
| Goodreads

EXCERPT from The Do Over:


Looking over at her again, I noticed she wasn’t showing any interest in this part of the class. It was my job to make sure that every student was properly trained in advanced life support. I owed it to her to engage her in this class activity.  

“Ms. Ruiz,” I called, waving for her to come up to the front.  

She straightened up, like she was startled. Shit, I hope I didn’t freak her out.  

After she sauntered to the front of the class, she got into position. Clearly, she knew what she was doing, but that didn’t stop me from assisting her. I didn’t know what had possessed me. I was drawn to her. I stood behind her as she placed her hands on the dummy. She was the perfect height. I could’ve easily rested my chin on her head. I reached over, almost leaning into her. I laid my hands over hers as we pushed down on the dummy.  

Making sure she applied the correct pressure, I said in a hushed voice, “Make sure it’s deep, hard, and steady. Yeah, that’s right. You’re doing it perfectly.”  

About The Author


A.L. Zaun graduated from Florida International University with a degree in English Literature a long time ago.  A degree she didn’t use at all in her professional endeavors.  She loves to read, write and take pictures.  She walks around with her camera, and most importantly she has her e-reader available at all times.  Healthcare Management by day, Mommy in the evening and most nights, you can find her sitting in front of her laptop with a bottle of Diet Pepsi, bringing the voices in her head to life on the pages of her debut novel, The Do Over.  


BLOG STOP: Runes by Ednah Walters




Runes by Ednah Walters


Title: Runes
Author: Ednah Walters
Publication Date: May 20th 2013
Publisher: Firetrail Publishing



Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with her father’s disappearance, her mother’s erratic behavior and the possibility of her boyfriend relocating. The last thing she needs is Torin St. James—a mysterious new neighbor with a wicked smile and uncanny way of reading her.
Raine is drawn to Torin’s dark sexiness against her better judgment, until he saves her life with weird marks and she realizes he is different. But by healing her, Torin changes something inside Raine. Now she can’t stop thinking about him. Half the time, she’s not sure whether to fall into his arms or run.
Scared, she sets out to find out what Torin is. But the closer she gets to the truth the more she uncovers something sinister about Torin. What Torin is goes back to an ancient mythology and Raine is somehow part of it. Not only are she and her friends in danger, she must choose a side, but the wrong choice will cost Raine her life.
| Goodreads

My Review


This book was epic! I could not put it down at all. I love Ednah's writing and seriously, this book got me hooked from the start!! So when I finished this book, I was literally sitting there with my mouth hanging open while I wait for the last word to sink in. OH MY GAD CHRISTO!! I NEED TO THE 2ND BOOK NOW!!

So we meet Raine Cooper, she's a lively girl, aka normal. With her father's disappearance and her mother's strange behaviour, she kind of have a messed up life. Raine was the type of the girl-next-door in some ways, and she was kind of tough in another.

We also meet Torin. OOOoooo Torin!! I love Torin, and also very jealous of Raine. I mean, he ives next door to her for ef's sake. Torin sounds like the player type but really, he isn't. He's kind, a jerk in some ways, and also he has great (thick sarcasm) friends.

I love the whole plot of this book, and I also love Raine and Torin. But most of all, I LOVE ANDRIS!! Seriously! That guy is such a jerk. But he's really funny. He's the sort of guy who you would immediately hate at the beginning, then suddenly love straight away!!I love him, I love his jokes and I love the way he's so....like, you can't tell what he's going to do next.

The pacing of the story was just right, it wasn't too fast, or too slow, and it didn't miss out any parts. There were some part when I just totally wanted to shout "NOOO!!" but as if they were going to listen to me. LOL!

This book was an awesome read, but really? CLIFFHANGER? Are you trying to kill me or what? I cannot wait for book 2 and the release date better hurry up!! You need to pick up this book now!

About The Author


Ednah is the author of The Guardian Legacy series, a YA fantasy series about children of the fallen angels, who fight demons and protect mankind. AWAKENED, the prequel was released in September 2010 with rave reviews. BETRAYED, book one in the series was released by her new publisher Spencer Hill Press in June 2012 and HUNTED, the third installment, will be released April 2013. She’s working on the next book in the series, FORGOTTEN.

Ednah also writes New Adult paranormal romance. RUNES is the first book in her new series. She is presently working on book 2, IMMORTALS.

Under the pseudonym E. B. Walters, Ednah writes contemporary romance. SLOW BURN, the first contemporary romance with suspense, was released in April 2011. It is the first book in the Fitzgerald family series. Since then she has published four more books in this series. She's presently working on book six.

You can visit her online at www.ednahwalters.com or www.ebwalters.com,. She’s also on Facebook,twitter, ya-twitter, Google-plus, and RomanceBlog, YAblog.

Friday, May 24, 2013

NEW RELEASE: Broken Gates by D.T. Dyllin

Broken Gates by D.T. Dyllin




Title: Broken Gates
Series: P.J Stone Gates Trilogy #2
Author: D.T. Dyllin
Publication Date: May 24th 2013


P.J. Stone is a Seer who saw too little, too late.
In the past, her biggest worries were boys and school—but war has a way of changing things. Now, the alien Riders are trying to overrun the world. As the last of their kind, P.J. and her friends must find a way to save humanity before there’s nothing left to save.
After choosing a mate, P.J. hoped she'd have time to enjoy her love life. But with everything changing so quickly and major secrets revealed, who knows what the future will bring?
| Goodreads


Buy Link


Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Gates-Stone-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B00CNVOJ0Q/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1369277255&sr=8-4&keywords=broken+gates

Publisher
http://www.dragonfairypress.com/dtdyllin/brokengates

About The Author


Cynical-Optimist. Chocolate-holic. Sarcasm Addict. Paranormal Believer. Romance Junkie. Self Imposed Insomniac. Animal Lover. Writer.



Thursday, May 23, 2013

REVIEW: The Originals by Cat Patrick

The Originals by Cat Patrick


Title: The Originals
Author: Cat Patrick
Publication Date: May 6th 2013
Publisher: Electric Monkey (UK)


I glance at the three baby portraits in thick wooden frames.I feel a familiar prickling on the back of my neck.Because I know there's another picture somewhere - and the baby in that photo looks identical to the babies on the wall.Somewhere, there's a photo of the original.
Ella, Betsy and I look like sisters: triplets, you might think.
But that's not what we are at all.
We are clones in hiding. We split our lives and exist as one person in the outside world. And we've always been happy.
But now I've fallen head-over-heels in love . . . and that changes everything.
Because, to let love in, I need to be allowed to be Me.
| Goodreads

My Review:


I found this book really interesting to read. I just bought this yesterday and started it today, finished it all in a few hours. It was such an amazing read and I could not put it down.

So the story starts with introducing these three girls who share a life. The girls: Elizabeth, Ella and Betsey are sisters, more like triplets. They look exactly the same, but they are completely different. They live the same life, each living one-third of a day. Elizabeth takes the morning classes and then she swaps with Ella as soon as lunch starts. Betsey takes the evening times. 

Of course, that's kind of a pain in the ass if you live only one-third of a day for your whole life. But that's the sort of life the girls live in. We get to read this book from Elizabeth's point of view, and I love how she was just like a normal girl. She's kind of selfish in some normal-everyday-life sort of way, which I also love, and she was the sort of girl that you would fall in love with straight away.

And also, how can I forget the love interest? Sean Kelly. Sean is the type of boy who every girl likes, but he's not a player. He's just a guy whose bedroom is neat, who loves taking photos and he runs the school's facebook page. Sean is kind, the type that supports his girlfriend. He's generous and did I mention, hot? LOL!

I love the whole plot of the story, how the girls find their way back to being themselves. And I also love how Cat made the book so unique with the triplets and clones. I love Cat's writing, and I have to say, it has been a while since I've read a good normal-life-girls book, even though their life was way more than normal.

I love the characters, the plot and the whole scene set up inside the book. I could literally picture the girls in my mind, and with a cover like that...man, the cover is amazing!! It's just so pretty!! So envious of the models!! Hehe!!

5 stars.


About The Author


Cat Patrick is an author of books for teens. Her debut novel, FORGOTTEN (available now), is about a girl who can remember the future instead of the past, and was praised by NYT bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher, as a "mindbending," one-sitting read. The book is being translated into 21 languages and Paramount bought the movie rights, with True Grit's Hailee Steinfeld attached to star as the main character, London Lane.
Patrick's second (unrelated) novel, REVIVED, is about a girl who's part of a secret government program to test a drug that brings people back from the dead. REVIVED will be available in the US May 2012, and in the UK and Australia Summer 2012.
Patrick lives near Seattle with her husband and twin 3-year-olds, and is afraid of zombies, planes, and zombies on planes.
Visit her online at www.catpatrick.com 

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY: One by Mari Arden


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine




Title: One
Author: Mari Arden
Publication Date: July 2013


Jules Hendricks has had a string of bad "firsts."
Embarrassing first kiss. Traumatic first date. An obsessive first boyfriend she can't understand.
It's taken her years but she's finally able to leave her small town life behind for a new start as a freshmen at UW- Madison. For Jules this chance to be independent and rebuild her life is an opportunity she won't ever let anyone take from her again. She's determined to make something of herself without a man by her side, in front, behind or anywhere near her.
Reid "Pax" Paxton is the star quarterback for the UW Badgers. His brush with death makes him understand how precious life is, and how important it is to take life by the horns, unafraid. Jules knows he's dangerous for her. Dark hair. Smoldering eyes. Killer smile. That dimple. That body. Those arms. Pax is everything she's trying to run away from, but she can't help coming back for more. Slowly he begins to show a life together can be more than just a dream. It can be their reality. The truth about reality is it's not always sunshine and butterflies.
Sometimes it's a wasteland.
Sometimes secrets can't stay buried.
Sometimes your past will find a way to hunt you down.
| Goodreads

About The Author

I'm Mari Arden (Mari rhymes with safari). Teacher by day, author by night. When I'm not living my double life I like to hike and try foods from all over the world. Up until recently, I used to be scared of dogs. Even puppies. True story. Now I'm just afraid of anything with more than six legs. I write to soothe my soul and to, hopefully, entertain YOU.
Adventurous? Come join my double life!
What's YOUR Waiting On Wednesday??



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...