Monday, October 17, 2016

REVIEW: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #1)

The Raven Boys

Title: The Raven Boys
Series: The Raven Cycle #1
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publication Date: September 19th 2012
Publisher: Scholastic
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Magical Realism
Rating: 5 Stars
Even if Blue hadn't been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys. Especially the ones from the local private school. Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.
But this is the year that everything will change for Blue.
This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys. And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.
This is the year she will fall in love.

Thursday, October 06, 2016

REVIEW: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff


Title: Nevernight
Series: The Nevernight Chronicle
Author: Jay Kristoff
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: August 11th 2016
Genre: Adult, High-Fantasy
In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.
Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.
Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.
Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

COVER REVEAL: Closer by Mary Elizabeth

Good morning, everyone!
Today, I am hosting the cover reveal for CLOSER by Mary Elizabeth (Dusty: Innocents & Delinquents, True Love Way, Low & Poesy)!
I am so excited to reveal the cover, so we'll just jump straight into it!!

Monday, September 26, 2016

BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Play by Piper Lawson


Title: Play
Author: Piper Lawson
Publication Date: September 14th 2016
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I'm Payton Blake. Just another twenty-something girl, living the dream.
That’s what I tell myself every morning. That I’m successful, self-aware, and well-balanced.
It's just a tiny fib. I would be all of those things, if I had friends who didn’t work with me at the bank. And if I made it to pilates more than once a quarter. And if watermelon slushies weren't the main source of nutrients in my diet. It wouldn’t hurt if I’d had sex in the last year, either. (My best friend insists Jorge the Nightstand Boyfriend doesn’t count.)
But when you know where you're going, you don’t need to enjoy the ride. Right?
Even if some teeny part of me did want to fool around, Max Donovan would be the last guy I’d call. Sure, he made the indie video game that broke the internet. And yeah, his eyebrow piercing’s sexy, in a ‘what-are-you-in-a-band?’ kind of way. And fighting with him gets me going faster than Jorge on bezerker mode…He’s still colder than a cactus and twice as prickly. And I’m not talking about his face, because the guy’s barely old enough to shave.
It’d really be best if we just ignored each other. Which is a problem, because Max Donovan is my new biggest client.
So what happens when the girl who lives to work meets the guy who was born to play?
Game on.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY: Gilt Hollow & One Was Lost

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine
This week features two books that I've recently just discovered and they both look so good that I had to share! And here they are:

Tuesday, September 06, 2016

REVIEW & PLAYLIST: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #5)

Empire of Storms

Title: Empire of Storms
Series: Throne of Glass #5
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: September 6th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, High Fantasy, Romance
The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't.
As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.
Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

Friday, August 19, 2016

BOOK BLITZ & GIVEAWAY: Sting by Sandra Brown


Title: Sting
Author: Sandra Brown
Publisher: Grand Central
Publication Date: August 16th 2016
Genre: Adult, Romance, Suspense
When Shaw Kinnard encounters the incongruously elegant Jordie Bennet in a seen-better-days bayou bar, it’s not love at first sight. He’s there to kill her. Instead, he abducts her, eager to get hold of the $30 Million her brother has pocketed from his badly bent boss. Now they are on the run from said boss—and the FBI.

| AMAZON | B&N | iTunes | Kobo |

Thursday, August 11, 2016

BOOK BLITZ & GIVEAWAY: Under A Million Stars by Rita Branches

Under A Million Stars

Title: Under A Million Stars
Author: Rita Branches
Publication Date: August 8th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Can a beating heart bleed from the shattered pieces?
Her heart cracked when her best friend walked away; it completely shattered when she lost her family in a tragic accident.
Now orphaned at seventeen, Charlotte Peterson is forced to live with her former best friend, Jacob Parker. Charlie, a talented pianist, desperately wants their loving friendship back, but something is holding Jake back. The more she spirals into the darkness of depression, the more she needs him.
Jacob vowed to stay away from her—no matter how much he still loved her. Armed with secrets that would have destroyed both of their families, he chose to end their friendship and walk away, which nearly killed him. As he watches the girl he once knew begin to fade away, however, he realizes that their relationship is more important than the truth he’s hiding.
Now it’s up to Jacob to put the pieces of Charlie’s broken heart back together—even if it means revealing the secrets he so desperately wants to protect her from.
Will Jacob find a way to bring back the carefree, talented girl he once knew, or is it too late for both of them?
| AMAZON | B&N |

Thursday, August 04, 2016

REVIEW: The Allure of Julian Lefray by R.S. Grey (The Allure #1)

The Allure of Julian Lefray

Title: The Allure of Julian Lefray
Series: The Allure #1
Author: R.S. Grey
Publication Date: June 29th 2015
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Comedy
Rating: 4.5 Stars
From: JosephineKeller@LLDesigns.comTo: LilyNBlack@gmail.comSubject: Justin Timberlake Nudes!
Lily, you predictable perv. I knew you’d open this email faster if I tempted you with a glimpse of JT's “PP”. Well, put your pants back on and grab some bubbly because I have much better news to share.
As of tomorrow, I’ll be the new executive assistant at Lorena Lefray Designs. I am SO excited, but there’s one itty bitty problem: I won’t be Lorena’s assistant. I’ll be working for her older brother, Julian.
I know what you're thinking- "But Jo, what’s the problem?"
Google him. Now. He’s the man in the fitted navy suit whose face reminds you that there’s hope yet for this cruel, ugly world. Keep scrolling…Do you see those dimples? Yup. That’s the Julian Lefray I will be reporting to tomorrow morning.
Lord, help us all...

Wednesday, August 03, 2016

REVIEW: Capture by Rachel Van Dyken (Seaside Pictures #1)


Title: Capture
Series: Seaside Pictures #1
Author: Rachel Van Dyken
Publication Date: August 20th 2015
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Losing your ability to speak at the age of seventeen; it’s not normal or fair.
But trauma, has a way of throwing normality out the window.

Dani lives anything but a normal life.
Her sister is married to one of the biggest names in Hollywood.
Her best friends are rockstar duo AD2.
And she has more love around her than most people experience in a lifetime.
But that doesn't change the fact their parents are dead.
Or that it's her fault.

It seems her new normal is being a mute, living on the inside, unable to actually communicate on the outside.
That is until Hollywood’s newest heartthrob Lincoln Greene hires her as his assistant for the summer.
He's gorgeous, completely unavailable, and unobtainable.
But that doesn't stop her from wondering...if things were different...would he want her?
If she was whole, would he be the other half?

Tuesday, August 02, 2016

REVIEW: Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen (True North #1)


Title: Bittersweet
Series: True North #1
Author: Sarina Bowen
Publication Date: June 14th 2016
Publisher: Rennie Road Books
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 5 Stars
The new series is set in Vermont. True North is populated by the tough, outdoorsy mountain men that populate the Green Mountain State. They raise cows and they grow apples. They chop a lot of wood, especially when they need to blow off steam. (Beards are optional but encouraged.)
If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the orchard.
The last person Griffin Shipley expects to find stuck in a ditch on his Vermont country road is his ex-hookup. Five years ago they’d shared a couple of steamy nights together. But that was a lifetime ago.
At twenty-seven, Griff is now the accidental patriarch of his family farm. Even his enormous shoulders feel the strain of supporting his mother, three siblings and a dotty grandfather. He doesn’t have time for the sorority girl who’s shown up expecting to buy his harvest at half price.
Vermont was never in Audrey Kidder’s travel plans. Neither was Griff Shipley. But she needs a second chance with the restaurant conglomerate employing her. Okay—a fifth chance. And no self-righteous lumbersexual farmer will stand in her way.
They’re adversaries. They want entirely different things from life. Too bad their sexual chemistry is as hot as Audrey’s top secret enchilada sauce, and then some.

Monday, August 01, 2016

BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY: A Cunning Plan by Astrid Arditi (Sloane Harper #1)

A Cunning Plan

Title: A Cunning Plan
Series: Sloane Harper #1
Author: Astrid Arditi
Publication Date: 8th May 2016
Genre: Adult, Romance, Suspense
Determined to put her family back together, Sloane Harper stalks her ex husband and his annoyingly stunning mistress, Kate. And she’s not the only one. Handsome IRS agent Ethan Cunning is surveying them too, but not for the same reasons. He is attempting to nail Kate’s playboy boss.
Ethan and Sloane decide to help each other, which sends Sloane’s wobbly life spinning out of control. She’ll have to face danger, humiliation, and scariest of all, the dating scene, to lure her daughters’ father home.
Losing control was the best thing to happen to Sloane… until it turned lethal.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

REVIEW: Monster In His Eyes by J.M. Darhower

Monster In His Eyes

Title: Monster In His Eyes
Series: Monster In His Eyes #1
Author: J.M. Darhower
Publication Date: April 27th 2014
Genre: Adult, Dark, Romance, Suspense
Rating: 5 Stars
Ignazio Vitale is not a good man.
I suspect it, the first time I see him, sense the air of danger that surrounds the man. He has a way of commanding attention, of taking control, of knowing what I'm thinking before I even do.
It's alarming and alluring. It's dark and deadly. It's everything I've ever wanted but the last thing I truly need. Obsession.
It doesn't take him long to draw me into his web, charming me into his bed and trapping me in his life, a life I know nothing about until it's too late. He has secrets, secrets I can't fathom, secrets that make it so I can't walk away, no matter how much I beg him to let me go. I see it sometimes in his eyes, a darkness that's both terrifying and thrilling. He's a monster, wrapped up in a pretty package, and what I find when I unmask him changes everything.
I want to hate him.
Sometimes, I do.
But it doesn't stop me from loving him, too.

Friday, July 15, 2016

BLOG TOUR: Life After Juliet by Shannon Lee Alexander

Life After Juliet

Title: Life After Juliet
Author: Shannon Lee Alexander
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Publication Date: July 5th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Becca Hanson was never able to make sense of the real world. When her best friend Charlotte died, she gave up on it altogether. Fortunately, Becca can count on her books to escape—to other times, other places, other people...
Until she meets Max Herrera. He’s experienced loss, too, and his gorgeous, dark eyes see Becca the way no one else in school can.
As it turns out, kissing is a lot better in real life than on a page. But love and life are a lot more complicated in the real world...and happy endings aren't always guaranteed.
The companion novel to Love and Other Unknown Variables is an exploration of loss and regret, of kissing and love, and most importantly, a celebration of hope and discovering a life worth living again.

Monday, July 11, 2016

BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Say Nothing by T.A. Roth

Say Nothing

Title: Say Nothing
Series: The Speak Series #2
Author: T.A. Roth
Publication Date: November 26th 2015
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 4 Stars

After years spent harbouring a shameful secret, I finally felt…alive, reawakened and brave. Willing to break down my walls and let love in. Let him in.
We had conquered our pasts. The truth had set us free, and we were looking toward our future. Until a crazy twist of fate brought my worst nightmare back into my life.
The voice and soundtrack to every one of my haunting dreams now had a face. One he won’t easily let me forget.
The hits Ben endured on the football field will be nothing compared to the devastating blow his heart will take if he finds out the whole truth. He knows the story, but he doesn’t know the monster. Not like I do.
Just as the wounds of my past had begun to heal, he’s come back to rip them wide open.
Maybe some things are better kept from those we love.
Maybe some secrets are never meant to be told.
Maybe it’s better to Say Nothing…

Monday, June 06, 2016

BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Artificial by Jadah McCoy


Title: Artificial
Author: Jadah McCoy
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Publication Date: April 4th 2016
Genre: New Adult, Sci-fi
She struggles to feel human.
In 2256, the only remnants of civilization on Earth’s first colonized planet, Kepler, are the plant-covered buildings and the nocturnal, genetically spliced bug-people nesting within them: the Cull. During the day, Syl leaves her home in the sewers beneath Elite City to scavenge for food, but at night the Cull come looking for a meal of their own. Syl thought gene splicing died with the Android War a century ago. She thought the bugs could be exterminated, Elite city rebuilt, and the population replenished. She’s wrong.
Whoever engineered the Cull isn’t done playing God. Syl is abducted and tortured in horrific experiments which result in her own DNA being spliced, slowly turning her into one of the bugs. Now she must find a cure and stop the person responsible before every remaining man, woman, and child on Kepler is transformed into the abomination they fear.
He struggles not to.
For Bastion, being an android in the sex industry isn’t so bad. Clubbing beneath the streets of New Elite by day and seducing the rich by night isn’t an altogether undesirable occupation. But every day a new android cadaver appears in the slum gutters, and each caved in metal skull and heap of mangled wires whittles away at him.
Glitches—androids with empathy—are being murdered, their models discontinued and strung up as a warning. Show emotion, you die. Good thing Bastion can keep a secret, or he would be the next body lining the street.
He can almost live with hiding his emotions. That is, until a girl shows up in the slums—a human girl, who claims she was an experiment. And in New Elite, being a human is even worse than being a Glitch. Now Bastion must help the girl escape before he becomes victim to his too-human emotions, one way or another.

Monday, May 23, 2016

COVER REVEAL: Olivia Decoded by Vivi Barnes

Welcome to the cover reveal of Olivia Decoded (Olivia Twisted #2) by Vivi Barnes, presented by Entangled Teen.
This cover reveal is hosted by Chapter By Chapter.

Saturday, May 21, 2016

ARC REVIEW: Full Share by Eliza Freed

Full Share

Title: Full Share
Author: Eliza Freed
Publication Date: June 21st 2016
Publisher: Brunswick House
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 5 Stars
Nora Hargrove’s post-grad life includes a horrific entry-level job, a cave of an apartment, and a strict avoidance of all interpersonal relationships. She knows only one thing about herself—she wants to be left alone.
Avoiding her mother’s forced family time, she seeks solitude on her own terms. In a poorly ventilated, overcrowded Dewey Beach rental, she discovers there’s no place to hide. Not from yourself, not from your life, and not from love. This is the story of Nora Hargrove’s full share.
I learned the healing power of a good bloody Mary and a dip in the Atlantic. I kayaked in the dead of night and witnessed the only shooting star I’ve ever seen. I fell in love on a bed made of pallets. I lived.
Life is deep. Dive in.
*Thank you to Netgalley for providing an e-ARC for review purposes

Monday, May 16, 2016


Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews

Good morning everyone! It's May 15th today coming from London and I thought I'll share some of the books I've received and bought recently to read.

Saturday, May 14, 2016

REVIEW: Behind The Hands That Kill by J.A. Redmerski (In The Company of Killers #6)

Behind The Hands That Kill

Title: Behind The Hands That Kill
Series: In The Company of Killers #6
Author: J.A. Redmerski
Publication Date: May 7th 2016
Genre: Adult, Crime, Thriller, Suspense, Romance, Dark
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Even professional killers need vacations, but for Victor Faust, his vacation in Venezuela is about more than relaxation and time alone with Izabel Seyfried. It is a chance for him to come clean to Izabel: to tell her the truth about why he sent her to Italy with his brother, the truth behind his interest in Nora Kessler, and about his knowledge of Izabel’s child with her former captor. But before Victor can spill his soul, reality proves that for some killers, vacations are just pipe-dreams.
Attacked and kidnapped, Izabel finds herself stuffed in a suitcase, while Victor later wakes up imprisoned in a cage. In any other situation, Victor would find a way out and save himself and the woman he loves—but not this time. When the identities of their kidnappers are revealed, Victor loses all hope, and begins the mental process of accepting his and Izabel’s last moments together. And Izabel’s final moments of life.
As if his circumstances are not complicated enough, members of Vonnegut’s Order are finally closing in on Victor. And when they do, he comes face-to-face with someone else he once knew and loved, who could either help him, or make a grave situation much worse. Victor’s past has finally caught up with him: the women he has cared for, loved, and killed; the families he has destroyed; the unforgivable crimes he has committed. And now he must face the consequences, and pay the ultimate price for absolution.
But when it is all over, Victor may not have the strength to pick up what is left and move on. Because the event changes him. Because love changed him. And because, unlike before when he thought it is was for the best, he cannot imagine a life without Izabel in it.

Thursday, May 12, 2016

MAY & JUNE: Exam months

Hey guys!

It's me, June, again!

So I just wanted to write a short post explaining a few things that will be happening in the next two months of my leftover secondary school life.

So, obviously, it's exam month, and of course, I'll be taking exams as well because you know, I need to pass them to get into college/6th form and then pass their exams to get into university and then pass that to get a good paying job and you know, just all of that jazz :D

So, by me taking my exams and (trying to) pass them, I won't be able to post much on here because I will be using my time to revise and such. This is probably why I didn't post an April wrap-up or a May TBR at the start of this month, because ultimately, my exams has already started.

I've completed two out of my twelve GCSE courses (3 out of 23 exams done! 20 more to go!) and that was all in the past week. I've got one week of no exams and then it all starts again next week, meaning I only have this week to post all of the things I want and have the free time to read pleasurably. 

But anyway, so starting from next week onwards, I will be stuck in exam mode and so if you don't see me posting in a long while, that will be the reason :D I hope you stick along though, because by late June, my exams will be done and I won't ever have to read the word GCSE again! And of course, free reading time!

But yeah, this is it. I might try to post some reviews and such along the way, but that depends on how much reading I get done during revision. I've got one blog tour coming up beginning of June but I'm trying to squeeze that in and schedule it as soon as possible so that it won't get in the way of my studying. 

So anyway, that was all I wanted to update you guys on! And hey, if you guys are interested, I'm doing Psychology, Sociology, English Lang & Lit and Maths for college :) Just if you're interested aha.

I will see you guys sometime soon! :D

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY: Settling The Score by R.S. Grey (The Summer Games #1)

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This week's pick is:

Settling The Score

Title: Settling The Score
Author: R.S. Grey
Series: The Summer Games
Publication Date: May 2nd 2016
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Sports & Games
From the USA TODAY Bestselling author of Scoring Wilder, comes a sexy new standalone novel.As an Olympic rookie, Andie Foster has spent far more time in her cleats than between the sheets. For 21 years, her Friday nights have consisted of blocking shots rather than taking them. But now that she's landed in Rio, she's ready to see for herself if the rumors about the Olympic Village are true:
• The athletes are all sex-crazed maniacs...
• The committee passes out condoms like candy...
• The games continue long after the medals have been handed out...
As Andie walks the line between rumor and reality, she's forced into the path of Frederick Archibald, a decorated Olympic swimmer and owner of a sexy British accent--too bad he's unavailable in a way that "it's complicated" doesn't even begin to explain.
In other words: off limits.It doesn't matter that he has abs that could bring peace to the Middle East and a smile that makes even the Queen blush; Andie fully intends on keeping her focus on the soccer field. But the Village is small. Suffocating. Everywhere Andie goes, Freddie happens to be there--shirtless, wet from the pool, and determined to show her a whole new meaning of the phrase "international affairs".
Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

REVIEW: Dearest Clementine by Lex Martin (Dearest #1)

Dearest Clementine

Title: Dearest Clementine
Author: Lex Martin
Series: Dearest #1
Publication Date: May 25th 2015
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Suspense
Rating: 5 Stars
Twenty-year-old Clementine Avery doesn't mind being called bitchy and closed off. It's safe, and after being burned by her high school sweetheart and stalked by a professor her freshman year of college, safe sounds pretty damn good.
Her number one rule for survival? No dating. That is until she accidentally signs up for a romance writing class and needs material for her latest assignment. Sexy RA Gavin Murphy is more than happy to play the part of book boyfriend to help Clem find some inspiration, even if that means making the name of research, of course.
As Gavin and Clem grow closer, they get entangled in the mystery surrounding a missing Boston University student, and Clem unwittingly becomes a possible target. Gavin tries to show Clem she can handle falling in love again, but she knows she has to be careful because her heart’s at stake…and maybe even her life.
DEAREST CLEMENTINE is a stand-alone novel with two companion novels. This New Adult romance is recommended for readers 18+ due to mature content.

Monday, May 09, 2016

BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Lies in the Darkness by Amanda J. Clay

Lies In The Darkness

Title: Lies In The Darkness
Author: Amanda J. Clay
Publication Date: May 9th 2016
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 5 Stars
It’s senior year at Pacific State University and all-night parties, cheap hookups and regrets are the ruling pastimes.
Sophie DeLuca used to be a nice girl—but that was before Luke Lamanuzzi tore her heart to shreds. Now she’s a walking trail of vodka-soaked destruction, something her sexy, smooth-talking coworker Davis won’t let her forget. He might have a secret crush on her—but his playboy reputation would never let him admit it. His best friend Blake’s own love of all-nighters and debauchery comes crashing to a halt when a one-night stand backfires. Level-headed Cassie seems like she’s the one who has it all together, but she’s just better at hiding her skeletons.
Ungracefully pirouetting in and out of love triangles, drug addictions and unwanted pregnancies, four friends stumble their way through their last year of study and try to grasp the realities of the world on the other side.

Thursday, April 28, 2016

REVIEW: Forget Me Always by Sara Wolf

Forget Me Always

Title: Forget Me Always
Series: Lovely Vicious #2
Author: Sara Wolf
Publication Date: Nov 1st 2016 (first published Feb 8th 2014)
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 5 stars
Light meets dark. Secrets meet truth. 
It's been three years, twenty-five weeks, and five days since Isis Blake fell in love, and if she has it her way, it'll stretch into infinity.
After a run-in with her mom’s ex-boyfriend, she scrabbles to remember what she’s lost to amnesia. Her ex-nemesis Jack falls deeper into a pit of despair, and his girlfriend Sophia does all she can to keep him to herself. But as Isis’ memories return, she finds it harder and harder to resist what she felt for Jack, and Jack finds it impossible to stay away from the only girl who’s ever melted the ice around his heart.
As the dark secrets surrounding Sophia emerge, Isis realizes Jack isn’t who she thought he was. He’s dangerous. But when Isis starts receiving terrifying emails from an anonymous source, that danger might be the only thing protecting her from something far more threatening.
Her past.
***This book contains language and sexual scenes, some of which may be unsuitable for younger readers. 

Monday, April 25, 2016

BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Painting Sky by Rita Branches

Painting Sky

Title: Painting Sky
Author: Rita Branches
Publication Date: April 25th 2016
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Nobody ever said life was easy...
People pleaser, Jane Skylar wants nothing more than to earn her art degree, start her life, and bask in the bliss of living with her boyfriend.
But things don't always go as planned...
Struggling with her creative side, Jane finds herself in turmoil, often confiding in her roommate - another, more talented art student, Keith Hale. Keith just so happens to be her boyfriend's older, brooding brother. After a devastating breakup, Jane turns to Keith for comfort. But when the lines blur between roommate and lover, Jane's life becomes more complicated than ever before.
When Keith's past comes back to haunt him, their lives all get turned upside down, forcing the truth to surface. Now Jane must fight for what she wants--even if it hurts everyone she loves.

Monday, April 18, 2016

REVIEW: Manwhore by Katy Evans (Manwhore #1)


Title: Manwhore
Series: Manwhore #1
Author: Katy Evans
Publication Date: March 24th 2015
Publisher: Gallery Books
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Erotica
Rating: 5 Stars
Is it possible to expose Chicago’s hottest player—without getting played?
This is the story I've been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention.
Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in.
Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career.
But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I'm the one discovering him...or if he's uncovering me.
What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

BLOG TOUR/PROMO & GIVEAWAY: Anomalies by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman


Title: Anomalies
Author(s): Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman
Publication Date: February 9th 2016
Publisher: Select Books (NY)
Genre: Young Adult, Sci-fi
In the future there is no disease. There is no war. There is no discontent. All citizens are complacent members of the Global Governance. But one summer is about to change everything.
Keeva Tee just turned fifteen. All of her dreams are about to come true. She s about to make the trip to Monarch Camp to be imprinted with her intended life partner. One day they ll have perfect kids and a perfect life. But in her happy, carefree life in the Ocean Community, something weighs on her mind. She hears whispers about anomalies citizens who can t be imprinted. No one knows what happens to them, but they never seem to come back.
When Keeva arrives at Monarch Camp, her worst nightmare becomes a reality she is an anomaly. After imprinting, the people she loves change, and she starts to doubt everything she s ever believed. What if freedom and individuality have been sacrificed for security? And what if the man who solves all the problems is the very man who s created them and what if he isn't a man at all?
When Keeva finds a warning carved under a bunk bed she begins to understand: nonconformity will be punished, dissent is not an option, insurgents will be destroyed.

Friday, April 15, 2016

COVER REVEAL: Taxi by Cambria Hebert

Xpresso Book Tours is hosting the cover reveal created by Mae I Design for Cambria Hebert's newest upcoming novel:

Here is the cover!

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

REVIEW: The Bad Ones by Stylo Fantôme

The Bad Ones

Title: The Bad Ones
Author: Stylo Fantôme
Publication Date: April 12th 2016
Publisher: Battleaxe Productions
Genre: Adult, Romance, Dark, Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Love isn't always bright and shiny. 
Sometimes, it's dirty and wrong, buried six feet deep in a secret place where only wild things dare to go. Hidden behind a big black curtain that covers things no one should ever see.
Sometimes it happens between two people who should never be allowed to come together. One who is a match, and the other who just happens to be gasoline.
One strike is all it takes to burn the whole world down, and that's exactly what they plan on doing.
Even if it kills them. 
Warning: this book contains graphic sex, extremely brutal violence, foul language, and people repeatedly and knowingly breaking the law. 80,000 word full length novel.

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

BOOK BLITZ & GIVEAWAY: Withering Hope by Layla Hagen

Withering Hope

Title: Withering Hope
Author: Layla Hagen
Publication Date: January 19th 2015
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Aimee’s wedding is supposed to turn out perfect. Her dress, her fiancé and the location—the idyllic holiday ranch in Brazil—are perfect.
But all Aimee’s plans come crashing down when the private jet that’s taking her from the U.S. to the ranch—where her fiancé awaits her—defects mid-flight and the pilot is forced to perform an emergency landing in the heart of the Amazon rainforest.
With no way to reach civilisation, being rescued is Aimee and Tristan’s—the pilot—only hope. A slim one that slowly withers away, desperation taking its place. Because death wanders in the jungle under many forms: starvation, diseases. Beasts.
As Aimee and Tristan fight to find ways to survive, they grow closer. Together they discover that facing old, inner agonies carved by painful pasts takes just as much courage, if not even more, than facing the rainforest.
Despite her devotion to her fiancé, Aimee can’t hide her feelings for Tristan—the man for whom she’s slowly becoming everything. You can hide many things in the rainforest. But not lies. Or love.
Withering Hope is the story of a man who desperately needs forgiveness and the woman who brings him hope. It is a story in which hope births wings and blooms into a love that is as beautiful and intense as it is forbidden.
Note: This novel is recommended for 18+ due to sexual content and mature themes.
| AMAZON | B&N | iBooks | Kobo |

Friday, April 08, 2016

REVIEW: Love Me Never by Sara Wolf

Love Me Never

Title: Love Me Never
Series: Lovely Vicious #1
Author: Sara Wolf
Publication Date: April 5th 2016 (first published November 4th 2013)
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 5 Stars
Previously published as Lovely Vicious, this fully revised and updated edition is full of romance, intrigue, and laugh-out-loud moments.
Don’t love your enemy. Declare war on him.
Seventeen-year-old Isis Blake hasn’t fallen in love in three years, nine weeks, and five days, and after what happened last time, she intends to keep it that way. Since then she’s lost eighty-five pounds, gotten four streaks of purple in her hair, and moved to Buttcrack-of-Nowhere, Ohio, to help her mom escape a bad relationship.
All the girls in her new school want one thing—Jack Hunter, the Ice Prince of East Summit High. Hot as an Armani ad, smart enough to get into Yale, and colder than the Arctic, Jack Hunter's never gone out with anyone. Sure, people have seen him downtown with beautiful women, but he's never given high school girls the time of day. Until Isis punches him in the face.
Jack’s met his match. Suddenly everything is a game.
The goal: Make the other beg for mercy.
The game board: East Summit High.
The reward: Something neither of them expected.

Thursday, April 07, 2016

BOOK WRITING #1: My Work In Progress & Excerpt

Hello there!

In this post, I am going to be introducing you guys to my current work in progress (one in hundreds that I've started and discarded).

I have been writing for a really long time, and by that I mean for five or so years. I didn't always write, especially when I was younger, because to be honest, I was never any good in English. I wanted to create my own world, my own story, but I was always disappointed with my work because of the fact that half of it never made any sense. 

But hey, nevertheless, I beat my goal of writing 10k words (but buzzed right down to 5k right now, but I'll get to that later) for my newest book, and I am proud to say, I am very happy with myself.

So for the past two or so years, I've been wanting to write this particular book that has been in my head for a really long time, but never had the story and character inspiration to actually write it. So I spent the first of the two years reading many many books, and got inspired by many authors. But then in the second year, I just stopped reading. Completely. I also stopped blogging as well as booktubing, and spent that year watching movies, tv shows, youtubers, all of that fun stuff (I had to go to school as well but yknow). 

So technically, I had this one year hiatus from everything that got to do with books. And I have to say, although I missed a lot of new releases and the fun hype of the book community, I found so much inspiration that year. 

Most of the time I was being lazy and lying in bed, I was dreaming. Day dreaming, night dreaming, whatever you wanted to call it. I dreamt about my characters, my storyline, my plot twists, my everything. And all of the sudden, I just had to get it down on paper. And so I did.

And from there, I now welcome you to the birth of my current work in progress:

Thick Skin

Thick Skin is a new adult contemporary romance telling the story of a girl addicted to drugs, a boy consumed by his anger and their dependency on the fulfilment of lost love.

I started the first draft about two months ago, and wrote 10k words in three nonconsecutive days. I had breaks in between, but 10k words is the most I have ever written for any of my other previous books. I used to have the tendency to write four or so chapters and then give up because I had no more inspiration and was stuck behind a writer's block. But with the first draft of Thick Skin, I broke through.

Now, despite writing those 10k words, I actually scrapped it and rewrote it. Shame right? Haha. 

You know those times when you write and read over it to see if it made any sense and followed any sort of plot line? Well that first draft of 10k words? It didn't make any sense. You can laugh if you want. I was laughing my butt off just reading over it.

But anyway, so I rewrote it all, and currently, I am at 5k+ words. It's half till 10k, so I'm still happy. Plus, the story now has a much better plot line and much better character depth. I switched things up a little bit, made things more heavy, more light, more everything, basically.

And right now, I am in love with my story.

So that's all I'm going to say about my current work in progress. I wanted to share something with you guys because why not? It makes me feel better about my book, and it makes me more confident in my writing knowing that I've shared something very important to me, personally.

I haven't said much about my book except for its main blurb (which is a bit vague, I know). So I am going to link my Pinterest board for Thick Skin here, so you could see some of the photos that link to my book and create inspiration. I pin things on there regularly, so a lot of things might change over time, but here you are:

That's a little snippet of the board :)

But anyway, let's get to the good bit!

Right now, in this post, I am going to give you a little excerpt of my book. You hear? You get to see a little bit of my writing! Yay!!

I can't copy and paste things here because of copyright reasons as well as the fact that it would be way too long for the post, so just click on this link beneath to read the excerpt! Also, please note that this is just an excerpt of a not-yet-finished first draft, meaning it has not been fully edited and proof read so there may be grammatical errors somewhere. But hey, I just wanted to share something with you guys so here it is! 

I hope you enjoy it and let me know your thoughts and feelings because it would be amazing to get feedback. Follow my pinterest board if you'd like to have a feel of what my book may contain and thank you for reading this post and the excerpt itself.

I love you guys!

June Luu

Wednesday, April 06, 2016

Monday, April 04, 2016

REVIEW: Best Laid Plans by Stylo Fantôme

Best Laid Plans

Title: Best Laid Plans
Author: Stylo Fantôme
Series: The Mercenaries #1
Publication Date: September 5th 2015
Publisher: Battleaxe Productions
Genre: Adult, Thriller, Action, Suspense, Romance
Rating: 5 stars
* Smuggle diamonds from Liberia to Morocco
* Make the trip in three days
* Don't get caught
* Don't kill each other
* Don't have sex with each other
* Don't fall for each other
* Stick to the plan
This is the story of what happens when an unlikely bond is formed between enemies, causing tensions to rise, and igniting a chemistry that threatens to burn them both. Together, they'll learn that sometimes even the best laid plans can fail.
If this NOVEL were a MOVIE, it would have an R rating from the MPAA. Contains: Violence, Grisly Images, Strong Language, Nudity, and Graphic Sexual Content.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...